Chairman Wicker acts to protect religious freedom in Europe and Central Asia

by | Jun 12, 2018 | Y'all Politics | 0 comments

Helsinki Commission Chairman Sen. Roger Wicker (MS) today introduced a bipartisan resolution (S.Res.539) urging President Trump to take action against some of the worst violators of religious freedom in Europe and Central Asia. Key targets of the legislation include the governments of Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan, Azerbaijan, Kazakhstan, Turkey, and Russia, as well as Russian-led separatist forces in Ukraine.

“Our founding fathers made religious freedom a cornerstone of our country, and President Trump carries that legacy forward by making religious freedom a cornerstone of his presidency. This resolution is a blueprint for action in a region where governments have often attacked religious freedom instead of protecting it. When governments take steps toward improvement, as Uzbekistan has done, we should support and bolster their efforts,” said Chairman Wicker.

Helsinki Commissioner Sen. Jeanne Shaheen (NH) is the lead co-sponsor of the resolution. Other original co-sponsors of S.Res.539 include Helsinki Commissioners Sen. Thom Tillis (NC), Sen. John Boozman (AR), and Sen. Cory Gardner (CO), along with Sen. James Lankford (OK).

S.Res.539 targets governments of participating States of the Organization for Security and Cooperation in Europe (OSCE) that have not complied with specific OSCE commitments to respect fundamental human rights and freedoms, including religious freedom.

The resolution urges President Trump to:

  • Re-designate Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, and Uzbekistan as “Countries of Particular Concern”—nations that engage in or tolerate severe violations of religious freedom such as torture, prolonged detention without charges, abduction or clandestine detention—and take actions required by the International Religious Freedom Act of 1998
  • Designate Azerbaijan, Russia, and Turkey as “Special Watch List Countries” for severe violations of religious freedom, and designate Kazakhstan if it continues to tighten restrictions on religious freedom
  • Block entry to the United States and impose financial sanctions on individual violators in these countries, including but not limited to:

o   Turkish officials responsible for the imprisonment of Andrew Brunson, an American pastor who has been unjustly jailed since October 2016

o   Kremlin officials responsible for Russia’s forcible, illegal occupation of Crimea

o   Russian-led separatist forces in Ukraine

  • Instruct the Ambassador-at-Large for International Religious Freedom, former Helsinki Commission Chairman Sam Brownback, to develop a U.S. government strategy that promotes religious freedoms in these countries, especially prioritizing support for ongoing reforms in Uzbekistan

S.Res.539 is supported by prominent international religious freedom advocates, including:

  • Dr. Thomas Farr, President of the Religious Freedom Institute, and founding Director of the State Department’s Office of International Religious Freedom
  • Dr. Kent Hill, Executive Director of the Religious Freedom Institute, and Assistant Administrator of the U.S. Agency for International Development (2001-2008)
  • The Ethics and Religious Liberty Commission of the Southern Baptist Convention
  • Frank Wolf, former U.S. Representative (VA-10), and Distinguished Senior Fellow, 21st Century Wilberforce Initiative
  • Nina Shea, Director, Hudson Institute’s Center for Religious Freedom
  • Dr. Daniel Mark, Commissioner, U.S. Commission on International Religious Freedom (2015-2018; Chairman 2017-2018), and Associate Professor of Political Science, Villanova University
  • Rev. Dr. Andrew Bennett, Canada’s Ambassador for Religious Freedom (2013-2016), and Program Director for Cardus Law
  • Dr. Aykan Erdemir, Senior Fellow, Foundation for Defense of Democracies, and Member of Parliament, Grand National Assembly of Turkey (2011-2015)
  • Dr. Elijah Brown, General Secretary, Baptist World Alliance
  • Dr. Byron Johnson, Director, Institute for Studies of Religion, Baylor University
  • Dr. Daniel Philpott, Professor of Political Science, Notre Dame University
  • Dr. Kathleen Collins, Associate Professor of Political Science, University of Minnesota

Senator Roger Wicker Press Release



Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.